I have talented Friends

and I’m proud of it! I just decided to do a massive post about some of the special people in my life highlighting their accomplishments. Keep up the good work!

new+online+goods+may

Above is the work of Jenna Rose. Jenna and I went to school together at NSCAD University. We both studied Textiles and Fashion and actually attended many of the same classes together. Jenna started her business right out of school in 2006 and now sells to many stores around Canada and the U.S.

363862a4408258e9f595344e9f9eb2be

These are the salad plates from Working Class Studio’s Kay Collection designed by Kay Wolfersperger. As I mentioned in an earlier post, Kay and I are joining forces as Culdesac, a small hand screen-printing company. Kay was also the Valedictorian for the 2009 graduating class at SCAD!

DSC03389

This is a painting by Canadian artist Sara Caracristi. Sara also attended NSCAD University with me and Jenna. Since graduating in 2006, Sara has been painting up a storm in the Canadian Art scene.

il_430xN.60257302

This luscious hand-dyed yarn is by Tanis Fiber Arts. Tanis and I attended NSCADU at different times but over the years have become good friends. Now if only I was a knitter! It’s so hard to think about knitting in the weather….one day Tan.

a342c4e6d15a3ebd6af80bb1277a7c16

“Shipping Light Balloons” by Carrie Chistian and Woodie Webber. Jon and I know Woodie and Carrie from our days at Elizabeth’s on 37th. They both come out of the SCAD painting MFA program. I still have Woodie’s Thesis show invite from 2004! This and a few of their other paintings are available at ShopSCAD.

Okay, Okay, I think my computer is trying to tell me that it’s had enough for right now. I will try to post something like this about more of my creative friends next week, but until then, have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by AGrayHarper. Bookmark the permalink.

About AGrayHarper

Andrea Gray Harper is an artist, designer, and maker who incorporates embroidery, screen-printing, and digital techniques into her handmade objects. A native of the Southeastern United Sates, Gray’s exposure to tropical plants and a lack of winter season garnished her love for the outdoors, plants, and bright colors. In 2007 Gray received a B.F.A degree from the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University in Textiles and Fashion. Since then she has attained an M.F.A in Fibers, participated in various solo and group exhibitions and trade shows, won Second Place in the Annual Juried Artist Book Symposium at the ACA Library of SCAD, and received the Ben C. Morris travel scholarship to study abroad in Cambodia. Today Gray is working on a variety of projects, from photo styling to garden design and event planning.

Leave a Reply

